#HelloFromAtHome Meet Kurt, Our Poetry-Writing Warehouse Manager

Here at At Home Medical, we sell catheters, incontinence products and other medical supplies, but we also do so much more. We love hearing from members of our community, and we want you to get to know who we are too! That’s why we’re doing #HelloFromAtHome, a series of interviews with our staff.

This week, we talk to Kurt Boyce, our warehouse manager (and poet). He makes sure that we get the right stuff from our vendors and that our customers get the right stuff from us.

Q. What do you do for At Home Medical?

A. I am responsible for the shipping and receiving of all the products that come into the warehouse. I pack the orders and ship them off to the customers. And I process the packages to make sure we’re getting all the right things in and stuff like that.

Q. How long have you been with the company?

A. Just over 2 years.

Q. What are you looking forward to?

A. For me personally, I’m looking forward to the growth that is just right around the corner and how things are going to change. Also, I’m excited about the work we do with the iPush Foundation and the way we help people. It’s good to be a part of a company that does that and that’s what I look forward to.

Q. What’s been the most exciting thing you’ve seen or worked on?

A. One of the most exciting things was when we launched our new website a couple years ago. We went from an old outdated style to a more modern look, and kinda got on the fast track with technology.

I also like seeing the new types of products that we bring in. Since inventory and products are my job, that’s what excites me most, seeing new things. One of the new products we have is a self-emptying leg bag. It has a control device attached to your wrist or it can be operated with a button at the waist. It helps people with limited use of their hands empty their leg bags without assistance.

Q. What motivates you to do what you do?

A. The feeling of knowing that, even if it’s a small thing, I’m bringing quality of life to someone else. Even if they don’t know that I’m doing it. A lot of people take for granted being able to use the bathroom when they want, and many of our customers can’t. It feels good knowing I’m helping them, even if they don’t know it’s me.

Q. What do you like about the team at At Home Medical?

A. We’re really close. Being a small company, we’re all really tight-knit and get along well. You can come in and make small talk and really bond with people. At bigger companies, sometimes people are just a face in the hall. But here, it really is like a family. I know it’s cliched, but it really is.

We all have to pitch in on things around here. Sometimes you’re doing something outside of what you normally do, but you’re not completely clueless about it. So having the small team helps with that too.

Q. What’s something about you that people may be surprised to know?

A. I write lots and lots of poetry and music in my free time. And I love to draw and paint — I have an artistic side to me.

Q. What’s your favorite movie?

A. It’s a toss-up between two movies. The first one would be Big Trouble in Little China. I love Kurt Russell, and that’s who I was named after.

The other one is O Brother Where Art Thou. It’s a really good story and a modern take on the story written by Homer back in the days of The Iliad. I’m a big history buff. It’s just interesting to see how, even though it took place so long ago, people are still the same.

Thanks, for taking the time to talk to us, Kurt! Got any questions about products, or want to talk history with Kurt? Drop us a line below, and he’ll respond!

Leave a Reply

