#HelloFromAtHome: Meet Cindy, Our Dancing Accountant

Here at At Home Medical, we sell catheters, incontinence products and other medical supplies, but we also do so much more. We love hearing from members of our community, and we want you to get to know who we are too! That’s why we’re doing #HelloFromAtHome, a series of interviews with our staff. This week, we talk to Cindy Dickinson, our number cruncher, bookkeeper and dancing machine.

What’s your title and what do you do at AHM?
I’m the only accountant, so I do it all – payroll, accounts payable… I won’t go into all the details, but I produce all the financials for the business. I love it! It’s what I’ve always done.
But people also tell me that I’m not like a typical accountant, I have a personality too!
How long have you been with the company?
I’ve been with At Home Medical Since 2011. But we’re a small family and I’ve known the guys here for almost 15 years.
What’s the most exciting part of working for AHM?
iPush [the foundation that At Home Medical sponsors]. I’m very excited about iPush and the growth. I know that it has the potential of helping other people.
When I started working in this industry, I had a friend who was a quadriplegic and he didn’t know how active he could be. Then I saw these guys living their lives and being active and it really opened my eyes. To see them doing so many activities, it shows that life’s not over.
What motivates you to do what you do?
I like being in the health industry. I like helping other people. I wouldn’t do it this long if I didn’t love it. I like knowing that the products we supply have a purpose.
It’s a family environment and I like the people I work with. We do activities outside of the office. We have a big Christmas dinner and we’ll go eat good food and joke around. We sometimes have BBQs at the office. We all have known each other for years. Dionna is the newest one but she fits in just like we’ve known her for a long time.
And that’s how we treat our customers. The way we treat each other is the way we treat our customers – as family.
What’s a fun fact about you that people would be surprised to know?
I love to dance and listen to karaoke! I sing every once in a while, but not all the time. It’s very rare.
But I will dance to anything. They know that up here at the office. If there’s a song on, I’ll get up there and dance to it.
What’s your favorite movie?
Urban Cowboy – I’m kind of a country girl. I like to ride horses, and I could watch that movie over and over.
Thanks, Cindy! How many accountants do you know like that?
Are you a dancing machine too? Tag us in a video showing some of your moves on Facebook or Instagram!
Leave a Reply

